News

LEGISLATURE 2014

Following years of debate, Senate approves car seat bill

 
Kurt Strazdins

Herald/Times Tallahassee Bureau

Starting in January, Florida children 5 and under must ride in a child safety seat when traveling in an automobile under legislation passed 36-3 by the Senate on Tuesday and sent to the governor.

Under the measure, HB 225, the law will expand the current requirement that children ages 3 and younger be restrained in car seats to apply to children ages 4 and 5, who often outgrow car seats. No longer will they be allowed to be restrained using a seat belt. They will have to be restrained using booster seats.

The bill received final approval after legislators had tried for 14 years to get the measure passed. Florida and South Dakota are the only two states in the nation that do not require children who have outgrown their child safety seats to use booster seats.

According to the National Center for Disease Control and Prevention, motor vehicle injuries are a major cause of death among children. Using a car seat reduced the risk of death for infants by 71 percent and for older children by 54 percent. Children up to age 7 or 8 who use booster seats were found to reduce fatal or incapacitating injuries by 17 percent.

“This is a wonderful bill and it’s going to save children’s lives,’’ said Sen. Thad Altman, R-Melbourne, who worked on passing the bill for years.

Sen. Maria Sachs, D-Delray Beach, called it a “mom’s issue.” Sen. Oscar Braynon, D-Miami, called it a “father issue too.” And Sen. Dwight Bullard, D-Miami, said concerned uncles support it as well.

The measure was pushed by members of the Florida Junior League and it was sponsored by Sen. Anitere Flores, R-Miami.

Drivers who violate the requirement are subject to a $60 fine, court costs and add-ons, and having three points assessed against their driver’s license. To avoid the points, the driver may participate in a child restraint safety program.

There are some exceptions: children between 4 and 5 years of age may use a seat belt if the driver is not a member of the child’s immediate family and the child is being transported as a favor to the family, in the case of an emergency, or when a doctor provides reason for an exception.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recommends that children use a child safety seat or a booster seat until at least age five, and until the seat belt fits properly. According to the federal guidelines, the seat belt fits properly when the lap belt lays across the upper thighs (not the stomach) and the shoulder belt lays across the chest (not the neck). The recommended height for proper seat belt fit is 57 inches tall.

Mary Ellen Klas can be reached at meklas@MiamiHerald.com and on Twitter @MaryEllenKlas
Miami Herald

Join the
Discussion

The Miami Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

The Miami Herald uses Facebook's commenting system. You need to log in with a Facebook account in order to comment. If you have questions about commenting with your Facebook account, click here.

Have a news tip? You can send it anonymously. Click here to send us your tip - or - consider joining the Public Insight Network and become a source for The Miami Herald and el Nuevo Herald.

Hide Comments

This affects comments on all stories.

Cancel OK

Follow Us

Sponsored Links